What Does Stephen King Think of eBooks? Well, It’s Complicated

When I found out that world famous writer Stephen King recently decided against producing an eBook version of his latest pulp fiction novel, Joyland, in order to bolster sales at brick-and-mortar bookstores, it reminded me of an interview King gave to CNN Money a few years back about the role of eBooks in the publishing world.

“A book is a fine thing to have in your hand and turn the pages on a summer day, but so is a Kindle,” he said. “And if I’m in the car, I can listen to a book on audio! You have to teach yourself to appreciate every one of those forms[…] the book is not the important part. The book is the delivery system. The important part is the story and the talent.”

Of course, when he gave this interview, Borders was still in business — maybe seeing one of the big bookselling powerhouses go under changed his mind a little. Or maybe he just wanted Joyland to remain on his readers’ shelves, not as “ephemeral” digital files on a machine.

Do you have any opinions on what King says about eBooks? Certainly they’re much easier for the self-publisher to produce, but it is nice to be able to hold a final paper copy of your finished work! What do you think? Let us know in the comments!

One thought on “What Does Stephen King Think of eBooks? Well, It’s Complicated

  1. It’s funny that he says to stir your stick and get into an actual bookstore; I assume the paperback is available on Amazon, and many people will buy it there (and wait a few days for it). Probably not what he was going for. :)

    I personally like having options. What format I choose as a reader has a lot to do with price and whether I want a book taking up my limited shelf-space (all things being equal, though, I prefer the reading experience of a paperback). As a writer, it seems like it’s very easy to make both available now that we don’t need to have thousands of copies printed. I hope to have both available some day.

Comments are closed.